Tuesday, November 20, 2012

Coconut Milk

I've talked a bit about Little Bear's allergies.  In my last post I talked about how his formula has soy in it (I found that only 1 baby formula doesn't have soy in it, and we tried it, and failed), so I decided to try coconut milk, then with the expense of it, decided to give it a try and make my own.

Well, it was interesting, that's for sure. What should have taken me about 30 mins or so (according to one blog), took me no less than 2 hours.  Little man screamed and cried at my feet the entire time.  My sweet Munchie Moo, well, she tried to "help".  Bless her little 3 year old heart.  Let's just say, it wasn't much help. :)

Anyway, I chose to use a fresh coconut, and drain and peel it myself, since I figured it would not only be more cost effective, but also fresher=better for him.

*Side note, I just had to clean up a huge glass of milk from my couch, Little Bear, decided he was going to pour it all over. Yep, that just happened*

So, where was I? In the time it took me to drain, split (that was a good frustration relieving part btw), and peel the coconut, my hands were raw, I had a huge cut on my finger ps, I could have flown to NYC.  I decided to add some extra coconut oil to the mixture, along with all the coconut water I drained from the coconut, and 2 cups of boiling hot water (hot water draws out more of the oil and sugar from the flesh).  It is a yummy milk, but I only got 1 quart, and it took me 2 hours. I would need at least twice that in one day, and it's just not a feasable option.  But, at least I tried it, and know now.  Dried coconut isn't much of an option for me, because of the cost.  I did learn a really great recipe for coconut butter.  Yummy! I'll share it when I make it again!

It turns out, that all my work was for nothing really, except a learning experience...  He just wasn't getting all the calories, nutrients, and enough fat from coconut milk alone.  I had to put him back on formula, until we can figure out the root of all the problems.  The GI wants me to try 3 new formulas (that still have soy), that are completely hydrolized and broken down, and hopefully they will be better than what he's on.  They are twice the price, but it will be worth it if they work.  So far, I've tried 2 of the 3, and haven't seen a difference. :(

No comments:

Post a Comment